Highway Department

The Fayette County Highway Department is responsible for the construction and maintenance of the county highway system, which includes 167 miles of highway and 51 bridges. We provide various engineering services to the 20 townships which maintain 1,100 miles of roadway and 200 bridges. We provide additional assistance to the townships by administering the Township Bridge and Township Motor Fuel Tax programs.

Township Road Commissioners

For questions or comments about township roads, please contact the appropriate Township Road Commissioner from the following list.
Road Commissioner
Phone Number
Avena Doug Engeljohn 618-829-5810
Bear Grove Gary Haupt 618-326-7445
Bowling Green Rusty Rosenberger 217-827-4115
Carson Andy Carter 618-335-4718
Kaskaskia Jerry D. Mays 618-292-2913
LaClede Leland McGuire 618-267-6394
Lone Grove Dane Harpster 618-349-8332
Loudon Robert (Mark) Reed 618-487-5282
North Hurricane Merle Saunders 217-823-2150
Otego Kenneth Garrison 618-427-3075
Pope C. Wesley Cain 618-381-4806
Ramsey Richard Thull 618-292-9362
Sefton Gary Smith 618-347-2282
Seminary Randy Long 618-780-1353
Shafter Scott Wright 618-335-4955
Sharon Mike Halford 618-267-4010
South Hurricane Tiffany Summers 618-367-9111
Vandalia Bruce Henry 618-267-1442
Wheatland Clint Dunbar 618-322-6364
Wilberton Robert Gehle 618-267-8813

Additional Resources
  • For questions or comments about state routes, including winter road conditions, contact the Illinois Department of Transportation in Effingham at 217-342-3951 or visit their website.
  • Review the Fayette County Sub-Division Ordinance and Set-Back Regulations.